back to school …

Yep, I’ve decided to get started with this … tonight marks class meeting 1 of course 3. Sometime last year, I decided I need a Certificate of Proficiency in Photography from HCC. I worked with an adviser last year to get two of the ten classes waived – Two-Dimensional Basic Design and Drawing I. Luckily, my Art minor from E-town got me out of those two, so tonight, I start course 3 in the 10 course program … Basic Photography. I’m totally excited. It’s like getting an education in a hobby; seriously, what could be better?

IMG_5734 IMG_5572 IMG_5718 IMG_4919 copy IMG_0333 IMG_4730 copy IMG_4148 copy IMG_8861.JPG IMG_2123 IMG_2713 IMG_0159 IMG_9997 IMG_2160 IMG_1741 IMG_0495 IMG_9080.JPG

While I’m ridiculously excited, at the same time I can’t help but feel that I’ve lost my mind. Of course, as is true to my style, time is the critical issue here. In addition to this class, I’ll be finishing my thesis proposal by December, getting rescue certified for diving, and finishing up Course 2 in Wilton’s Cake Decorating Series. And then there’s work, with my crazy busy season being from August to December. Somewhere in there, too, I like to have a life. Silly, huh? My husband might want to see me from time to time, as would my family. And don’t even talk to me about not seeing my nephews on a regular basis – I’d go into meltdown mode! Yeah, I’ve lost my mind. It is what it is, right?

So … in my quest to learn more, I’m finding a lot of cool links explaining the basics of aperture, shutter speed, and ISO that I’ll share with you. As long as I’ve got the time, too, I’ll post highlights from each class. Now, without further ado, here are the links I’ve found thus far. With my cameras, lenses, and textbook in tow, I’m gearing up for class tonight. I’ll keep you posted on my progress and continue to share with you what I’m learning!

Photography 101.4 – Exposure & Stops
Gordon McKinney’s Photography Blog
Essentials of Photography
Bernie’s Better Beginner’s Guide to Photography for Computer Geeks Who Want to be Digital Artists
Basic Photography Tips

Leave a comment