letters to our daughters: august ’13

It was our special surprise for you – for only you. We had planned it in our minds months ago, and we knew it would be the perfect “first.” As the day approached, we continued to get more excited, knowing what joy this day would bring – not only for you, but for the three of us.

_MG_3398.jpg

_MG_3470.jpg

_MG_3502.jpg

The memories will forever be in my heart and in my mind. The way you walked next to Dada through Lowe’s, so anxious to build that little wooden plane. Remember how Dada put the wings on upside down? You thought it was hilarious that the wheels were up instead of down! Thank goodness for Dada – he fixed it, just like he always does. Somehow I don’t think you’ll ever stop reminding him of that mistake, just like you constantly remind me about the time I “ripped the guy” on the Dunkin’ Donuts bag. In the end, you were so proud of your Dusty, and I could see the excitement when you received your certificate and badge.

_MG_3520.jpg

_MG_3594.jpg

_MG_3605.jpg

The joy you expressed as we pushed you in the cart through the Planes toy sections of not only Target, but Walmart and Toys R Us, too! We even stopped to play in the arcade in Walmart – you and Dada drove the car game twice, and you rode on Pumbaa, too.

_MG_3617.jpg

_MG_3672.jpg

The fun we had as we waited for our lunch – you sorted and organized those Planes characters until they were just right. I can hear your voice as you told me, “I feel the butter on my lips, MaMum. It’s so soft!” Yes honey, it sure is!

_MG_3781.jpg

_MG_3799.jpg

And the excitement you showed when we told you that you were going to see your first movie that afternoon? I wish I could bottle it up and give it to you when you need some encouragement after a bad day.

_MG_3935.jpg

_MG_3967.jpg

_MG_4004.jpg

_MG_4037.jpg

That movie couldn’t start soon enough … but then you fell asleep 30 minutes before it was over! I’ll admit – it was kind of our fault. Why would we take you to a movie at 2:30 in the afternoon knowing that you almost always nap at that time? We had a good laugh with you over it on the ride home, but you probably remember that, as you do so many details.

_MG_4064.jpg

_MG_4077.jpg

_MG_4093.jpg

My little Lily, I’m so excited to see what this year brings for you. Your new adventure in preschool starts in a few weeks, and I know you’ll not only survive, but you’ll thrive. It’s just who you are. I can’t wait to watch you grow in so many ways. May no one ever take the wind out of your happy little sails.

_MG_3436.jpg

I love you so, so much.
MaMum

If you’ve enjoyed this post (Okay, and even if you haven’t!), please continue the circle and visit my sweet friend Jennifer Smay! She has twin girls (And those girls have a big brother, too!), so please see what she’s got on board for this month! 🙂

10 responses to “letters to our daughters: august ’13

  1. Love, love, love your letter to Lil!!!

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Pingback: Letters to Our Daughters | Jessica Schugardt Photography

  3. Aw such a busy day! Looks like she had a blast!!

  4. What a special day! Love those Lowe’s build n grows 🙂

  5. jessicaschugardtphotography

    Mindy I love how your photos tell a story went so well with you letter, your daughter is adorable!;)

  6. Looks like she had a great time. Great photos and loved your letter

Leave a Reply

