matron of honor.

I’ve been meaning to post this for a while. Why it occurred to me this morning, randomly, I’ll never know.

I had the honor of serving as the Matron of Honor in my youngest sister’s wedding in September. It was a perfect evening … a beautiful evening for a beautiful couple.

Below is my speech. Thankfully, my younger sister shared the role (as Maid of Honor), so she did the funny speech. I’m the much more practical, advice giving sister, so my tone reflects my boring personality.

Good evening! For those of you who don’t know me, I’m [minski], the oldest sister of our fabulous bride. I’d like to start by congratulating Mr. & Mrs. [Y], and thanking you all for being here tonight to celebrate the beginning of their marriage.

I could tell you tonight about Alli’s Barney bag and her threats of running away from home at the young age of 5. We could laugh over the stories her being secured in her high chair with knee highs, but I’d embarrass myself and my sister April by telling you that we made her cry on purpose – knowing she couldn’t escape. Don’t tell Alli, but I’m certain it’s one of the reasons she’s so tough and no nonsense to this day. There was also the time she was tied to a steel pole in our basement, but instead of going there, I’ll leave a recap of those antics up to our other sister, April. Instead, I’d like to share a few pieces of advice I passed along to Alli & Billy shortly after their engagement.

  • First, may you live each day to its fullest and truly enjoy each others company.
  • Don’t let the little things stand between you – believe me, it’s not worth it.
  • Always tell each other “I love you” before falling asleep at night.
  • Make time for each other, but be sure to make time for you, too. The better person you are as an individual, the better spouse you will be.
  • You won’t always understand each other, but that’s okay – you’re just different, and that’s not a bad thing.
  • Don’t make big decisions on your own.
  • You’ll see the happiest of days, and you’ll encounter some rough days, too. Together you can make it through anything.
  • Go places and do simple things together – life’s too short, and you can’t make the time up later on.
  • Don’t forget those who got you where you are today – family is what you make of it, whether they be relatives or your closest and most dear friends. These are the people who will always be there for you – through it all.
  • Take a second tonight to look around – you’re surrounded by the people who mean the most to you, and they’re here because they love you.

Alli, thank you for your love and friendship over the past 23 years. You’re an amazing sister with a heart of gold, and I know you’ll be a fabulous wife, as well. Billy is one lucky guy to have found you! And on that note, Billy, this girl is loyal to a fault, and I’m sure you know just what I mean. Don’t be afraid to reel her in from time to time, okay? Stick up for her; she’s bound to be hurt one of these times. And please try not to make her mad; I’m sure you know as well as I do that our girl can hold a serious grudge! Finally, you’ve lived with her for long enough to know that she is not a morning person, so I won’t remind you of that. But hey Billy, she’s really not so much of a morning person, okay?!

Wishing you both the most bright, amazing future together … a toast to Alli and Billy, as they begin their life together as one!

Leave a Reply

