today: 10.31.12 …

I guess you could say I’m a little grouchy today. It’s a combination of things, not all of which are appropriate to post for all to see. This too shall pass.

We’ve all been up since just before 5 am – she woke up crying hysterically and wouldn’t tell me why. Believe you me, it’ll make for a fabulous day for her. (That was a joke … in case you couldn’t tell!)

It’s the first day back to work for my husband since Hurricane/Tropical Storm/Superstorm Sandy, aka Frankenstorm, rolled through. We were incredibly lucky – no power outage for us, and only one board damaged on our fence. 3 trees will need to come down (Well, one already has …), but that’s about it!

I had planned to attend the Halloween party at work … but given the lack of sleep last night, I’m not sure that’s the best idea. In fact, I just found out it’s been postponed because of the storm. Decision made, guilt free! Yes!

He’s been difficult to feed this morning. Seems we’re back to a ridiculously frequent feeding schedule again, as well. Yippee.

She’s in a good mood so far. She’s watched Nick Jr., colored and put stickers on paper for Dada, and had some cereal – Cap’n Crunch’s Crunch Berries mixed with Cocoa Puffs. Don’t ask. She was more interested in it once it had become mush. Ick.

She was upset with Dada for not taking her drawings to work with him.

He’s smiled at me a handful of times this morning – and that always makes me smile.

I’m wishing I had some time to myself. Having a newborn, and being the primary person responsible for that newborn, means you lose part of yourself – at least for me. Aside from a trip out of the house maybe once a week with only the 3 year old, I don’t get free time away from him. Some days it’s much harder on me, and today is one of them. A project I’ve been wanting to work on is weighing heavy on me … but it seems it’ll continue to weigh on me. It’s easier done in blocks of time … blocks that I just don’t have.

I just finished writing birthdays, anniversaries, and known appointments in my 2013 planner. I love getting organized!

I need to brush my teeth.

Trick or treating tonight? I doubt it. Does that make me a bad parent? It’s cold. We’re tired. I’m having a bad day. And I slacked a bit on a costume for her, though I could pull something together. Besides, it’s my husband’s late day. Of all days …

Ironically, I just received an email from my dental office reminding me of my appointment in a few weeks. Better go brush my teeth.

Leave a Reply

