review: annie & isabel hospital gown

By now you must know … baby K, whose first name is Kaden, has arrived! The stork delivered him one month ago on Saturday, September 22nd at 8:25 pm. He was a whopping 8 lbs. 13 oz. (Sheesh – my daughter was 7 lbs. 1 oz.!) and 21 inches long and he arrived in rapid fashion! We’re both doing well, and I’m proud to say that I had another awesome unmedicated delivery, this one better than the first! (I promise a short and sweet birth story soon, but let me just share this – I delivered this baby after only an hour of what I consider “real” pain, and delivered on my knees! It was absolute perfection – like a dream come true!)

Anyway, on to the reason I’m here. Some things are worth waiting for, and this just happens to be one of those things. Several years ago, I commented on a blog giveaway and won! For the record, I only enter giveaways if I really want what’s being given away, so when I won, I was over the moon excited.

What did I win?

An Annie & Isabel hospital gown! Little did I know that what I would receive in the end would be much more than a simple (Okay, these are anything but simple!) hospital gown – but more on that at the end.

I think I won the gown in late 2009 or early 2010. I knew we’d eventually have at least one more child, so I saved my gown, patiently waiting for my chance to wear it. When I got my chance, I couldn’t wait!

Kaden’s arrival was that chance!

kblog02

So did the gown live up to expectations? YES!!!

First, I got SO many compliments. The nurses raved about how cute the fabric was. My midwife loved it, as well. It was an all around win!

I decided to wear my gown immediately upon arrival – it was 7:30 in the evening when we arrived, and I knew I’d want to get into regular clothes the next day, so wearing the gown for delivery was my golden opportunity. Lucky for me, we were able to keep the gown clean, so I wore it through the night following delivery, as well. Score!

The fabric was super soft, which was nice for oh so many reasons. While I didn’t get the chance to walk around while in labor (Remember how I mentioned it was a lightning fast delivery? I meant it!), I know I would have been covered and completely comfortable without the need for two of those giant gowns like I wore while in labor with my first child! And it was perfectly accessible, allowing my midwife and the nurses to work as they needed.

Best of all, it made me feel so comfortable … and clean! No yucky, overused gown(s) for me. I loved the print, style, and feel.

kblog01 Would I recommend an Annie & Isabel gown? Without a doubt – and for reasons that go beyond the gown itself. These ladies are fabulous – you can find out more on the Annie & Isabel blog as well as on their Facebook page. They’re real, super sweet, and put their heart into what they do. To find company owners who truly care about the people on the receiving end of the products they make is rare – both Anna and Selena are just that type of person!

Wouldn’t an Annie & Isabel gown make a perfect gift for a friend or family member expecting a child or facing an upcoming hospital stay??? 🙂 I’m certain it’s a purchase you won’t regret – and a much appreciated gift!

Photos by Muddpics.

Leave a Reply

