embarrassed in Wegman’s?

I’m sure every parent has stories – times when they were utterly embarrassed by their children. I’m not talking about the misbehaving in a restaurant, baby screaming, or spit-up on your shoulder type of embarrassment.

Nope, what I’m thinking of is much more fun embarrassing.

I’m sure Lily has done some of these things already, but I’ve got the worst memory around and can’t think of any at the moment. Or perhaps I’m blocking the memories … who knows. If I think of any, I’ll add them here as an update!

Anyway, I witnessed one couple’s embarrassment tonight, and I had to chuckle to myself. Standing in the dairy section at Wegman’s, I heard chatter behind me coming from a toddler. Though I didn’t see him, my guess is that he was no older than 4, but probably a bit younger. He was talking to his dad about baseball – it was a simple, innocent conversation that quickly went south. As his mom approached, he asked her in a not-so-inside-voice, “Mom, did you go fart?”

(Oh. My. Gosh.)

His question was followed by silence.

Obviously lacking the satisfaction he needed, the boy asked again, “Mom, did you fart?” Again, no answer. Upon asking a third time, his dad boldly replied, “Yes son, mom farted.”

I had to walk away; I was afraid of what would come next! I thought about turning around and telling them I was the mom of a 2-year-old, but I seriously don’t think I could have faced them without laughter. I can only imagine how that mom must have felt as the boy bellowed his question through the dairy department.

Parenting is beautiful.

While Lily has yet to ask me that question in particular, we have had some fun in public restrooms lately. Toddlers have no filter, so anything goes. I always laugh when she talks about what she’s done on the potty while there are other people in the restroom; so many times we’ve gotten a good chuckle! She also likes to make sounds; many times it echos, so she’ll shout, “Da do! Da do!” or “Ow! Ow! Ow!” Love it. Seriously, I have a hard time keeping my composure. It’s just so funny!

Oh yes! I remember one of my embarrassing moments! Just for you, here goes …

About a month ago, we were in Target with my two sisters. Goose, Lily and I had gone into the bathroom, while A was at the Cafe getting a drink. Lil and I went into the larger stall, and Goose was two stalls to our right. Lily had gone potty and I got my chance next. It had been several hours since any of us had seen a toilet, so we had to go! Lil is usually pretty cooperative, so I’d never had any reason to worry. Frankly, I didn’t expect this evening to be any different.

As soon as I sat down, she darted toward the stall door and opened it … to a bathroom of strangers! I have never laughed so hard! All I could do was yell through my laughter, “Oh my gosh, Lily! Close the door! Oh my gosh! Oh my gosh!” There were two people in the bathroom with us, and as I sat there on the toilet, stall door open, one of the women headed for the sink. I could see her in the mirror, and I think we were both totally embarrassed. Thankfully, she never looked up. I’m sure she knew what was going on.

After the excitement and a little hand-washing, too, we headed to the Target Cafe to meet A. As Goose and I filled up sodas at the fountain, a woman approached. “Are you the one with the little one in the bathroom? Because that was so funny!”

Yep, I know how that mom from Wegman’s feels … for sure. And honestly, I wouldn’t trade it for the world!!! My piece of advice for you? Take your toddler into the smaller stalls – they’re still close enough to grab them when they make a move for the stall door!

Leave a Reply

