this is why …

This is why I have such a hard time sustaining these initiatives. I’m always motivated by the desire to lose weight. Sure, healthy eating, family health motivations, and just because are always a very close second, but my primary reason is to lose weight. I work my rear off – eating right, tracking calories, getting in lots of exercise. And what happens?

I gain weight.

So I look at what I did this week. In general, I ate as I was told by MyFitnessPal. If I worked out and needed to eat extra calories, I got as close to that calorie intake number as I could without forcing myself to eat if I wasn’t hungry. I tracked every last bite.

  • Mon: untimed walk/run @ park | 14,551 steps
  • Tue: 45 min treadmill | 11,955 steps
  • Wed: 45 min treadmill, 25 min walk/run @ park, 30 min Wii Fit Free Step | 17,793 steps
  • Thu: 35 min treadmill, 30 min Wii Fit Free Step | 11,665 steps
  • Fri: 45 min treadmill, 30 min Wii Fit Free Step | 13,779 steps
  • Sat: no workout | 6,599 steps (Poor performance, I know.)
  • Sun: no workout | 13,291 steps

So I certainly could have gotten one or two more workouts in there. Admittedly. And I did eat a cupcake and some buffalo chicken dip on Saturday. Didn’t need that, but by no means did I go overboard.

I’ll try harder this week. But to gain 3.6 lbs? Seriously? At my best over the past week, I’d seen a loss of 1.5 lbs – and the disclaimer here is that my scale broke, so I used a total of 3 different methods – my old scale until it died, my Wii Fit in between, and my new scale once it arrived.

I’ll keep going and give it time. But I’m already aggravated. Mamavation Sistas, I’m going to need your help this week to keep my motivation up!!!

9 responses to “this is why …

  1. ((hugs)) Have you tried other methods of measurement? Sometimes going off of inches instead of pounds will help you see a loss. Best of luck, I hope your body starts to cooperate with your efforts.

  2. ๐Ÿ™‚ That’s an excellent suggestion, and one I’ll do when I go home tonight!!! That’s another great form of motivation! Thank you!!!

  3. Don’t Give Up!!! Sounds like you are doing all the right things! I love Chicken Wing Dip too- ugh- i know!!! I have noticed that if I weigh myself at a different time of day- my weight will vary a few pounds (or diff x of the month)-not sure if you are weighing yourself at the same time each day & in the same clothes- but try that… & if you are … Muscle weighs more than fat and by working out you could be building your muscles. I can usually tell more by how my clothes fit then the # on the scale. Hang it there!!

  4. Dont give up don’t give up don’t give up!

    Pick another way to measure too. Inches. Energy. Catcalls from construction workers.

    Just don’t give up!

    • LOL!!! Have started measurements, and saw a little bit of progress today – yippee! No giving up – we can’t believe in that! Thanks for the encouragement … and for the laugh!

  5. wow you are doing awesome keep up the great work hugs

  6. Ditto to Shawn’s muscle comment. Beside that though, the point is to develop healthy habits that you can stick with long term. Who wants to go through life without wings anyway? That’s just wrong. It’s okay to indulge in moderation. The hardest part is always getting back on the bandwagon. If you can do that, then you’ve already won because it means the changes you’re making are becoming habits and that’s what it takes to make long-term lifestyle changes.

    • Hugs to you! You’re absolutely right, and I know you live by those words. You’re an amazing role model for me on this quest! Will send you an email soon – I know you’re crazy busy with the house, but would you want to go to lunch/dinner sometime soon? We’re not that far away, and I certainly don’t mind the travel! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

