whirlwind.

Good grief, is it Tuesday already? Is my 4-day weekend over? Sigh.

June was one heck of a month. We had lots to catch up on, faced a not so fun reality, had a sick little one … it was one whirlwind of a month.

Thing is, it’s now July and things don’t feel any better. I know, I know, just because the month on the calendar changes doesn’t mean everything else does, too. But why can’t it? Guess that can be good and bad.

I am happy to say that I lost at least 0.5 lb. last week, and it might be even more than that. How’s that for Mamavation? My scale broke at some point late last week, so until I get a new one, I’ll be guessing. I’m working my way through this thing – coming up with creative snacks, crafting healthy dinners, and getting in motion. Here are some things I’m doing:

  • Mixing it up. I can’t do a structured diet; I’d lose my mind. Instead, I pick one or two ‘favorite’ things for lunch for the week and get to choose which one I want each day. This week, my choices are a modified tomato sandwich (wheat bread instead of white, a Laughing Cow light blue cheese wedge instead of mayo) or my most favorite, Fage Total 0% yogurt with fresh strawberries and blueberries, plus the amazing Nuts About Granola Purely Simple granola. Yum!
  • I build snacks into my day – either a fruit or veggie in the morning, and one in the afternoon. The catch? I have to drink 2 glasses of water before I get to eat my snack.
  • I’ve been walking for everything individually. I don’t get water on my way to/from the printer, but instead make two trips. More walking = more calories!
  • This week, I’ll start going to our gym at the office again during lunch. It should help get me back into the swing of things, and that plus my walks/runs at the park a few nights a week just might help me get these pounds outta here!

I’m hoping things calm down a little bit soon – at this pace, I’ll be absolutely crazy in a week or two!

9 responses to “whirlwind.

  1. I totally get the whole Whirlwind of a month… or two… or heck, where has this year gone! be sure to take some breathing breaks now and then to help ward of the crazies 🙂 that’s what works for me… usually 🙂 Great job on losing midst the turmoil and keep focusing on healthy choices!

  2. what good goals! how simple goals they be done! and you know what you can do them! great job on your weightlose!

  3. I do that too; usually have a couple of different breakfasts and lunches to choose from. Hopefully July gets better for you:) It sounds like you have the right idea about walking more, I may just have to try it.

  4. I LOVE the water before snacks! I’m thinking I need to incorporate that into my days. Thanks for the idea!

    Have a great week! 🙂

    • Awesome – it’s not too difficult, and more water is always a good idea!

      Hope you have a fabulous week, too! Just left you a comment over on your blog, but hang in there. One day at a time – you can do this!!! 🙂

  5. I love all the things you’re doing to stay on track! Hopefully the new scale brings even better news, but in the meantime, congrats on the loss!!

Leave a Reply

