a weekend in the life of …

So, what did you do this weekend?

I wish I had a cool, awesome answer to that question. Really, I do. But we didn’t do anything super exciting.

Friday night consisted of an all-out meltdown in a local restaurant. It was a fabulous representation of just how crazy life with a 2-year old can be. There were tears. Kitty, Tags and Pa all went flying across the table. She tried scaling the back wall of the booth. Screaming? Yeah, we had that, too. The waitress asked if she could bring her something to eat to settle her down. Ha! Don’t worry – little one and I went for a short walk outside to calm down and came back just in time for dinner. Thankfully, I didn’t have to eat in the car, as she had settled down by then. If there’s one thing I won’t do, it’s sit in a restaurant with a screaming child. It’s just not fair to everyone else.

Saturday and Sunday were, thankfully, much less eventful. I was allowed to cut about 3/4 of our yard, though not without criticism. What is it with men and the stripes in the yard? The first thing my dear husband says when I turn off the lawn mower is, “Your lines aren’t straight.” Gee, thanks. My response, “I can save you an hour and cut the grass with non-straight lines, or you can do it yourself. Your choice.” Ehem.

We went to the farmer’s market, which had a few more vendors this week than last. Yippee! We met our neighbors across the street. We put the first rail on Lil’s big girl bed – the second one will arrive on Tuesday. We also celebrated a family member’s birthday – happy day to our very own fabulous Brum Brum!

All in all, it was just the type of weekend I like. Time to get things done (Though there’s never enough of that!), quiet time (I rested next to little miss on Sunday while she napped, which is always awesome.), and a little time out and about, too.

It’s not always grand things that make life so rich. Sometimes it’s just the little things that make me smile!

So I ask again … what did you do this weekend? Hope it was great in your own unique way!

Leave a Reply

