to my girl …

I get so sentimental when this day comes around each year. Granted, this is only the second (Or third, depending on how you look at it.) time we’ve been here, but both times have been full of such joy that I really feel my heart could explode at any second. I fight back the tears of joy throughout the day – tears that come from memories of that day.

I think about that day two years ago and try to remember what I was doing at that very moment. I have a rough timeline in my mind, and I know for SURE what I was doing at 2:00pm on Monday, May 11, 2009.

Holding our beautiful, brand new baby girl.

Happy birthday, Lily Rose. I’ll never be able to express, through words or actions, just how much you mean to me. Sometimes looking at you takes my breath away. You’re beautiful, with an amazing spirit. Your joy and laughter make me smile, and the sound of your voice reminds me of just how much you mean to me.

May you have a life full of happy days. When bad things come your way, I hope you have the confidence in yourself to tackle them head on, letting the things that don’t really matter roll right off your shoulders.

And I hope the strong connection you have with your dada lasts a lifetime. You’re truly a daddy’s girl if I’ve ever seen one. Does it make me sad sometimes that you don’t want to sit with me and fall asleep? Sure, but I know dada loves you as much as I do, so I manage. I know you love me, so I don’t worry.

I love you, sweetheart, and I’ll always be here for you. Thank you for showing me what love truly is – it’s because of you that I’m more patient, more kind, and more understanding. You make my days sunny and my spirit bright.

Happy birthday to you, my sweet Lily Rose!

Leave a Reply

