box.

I was giving Lily a bath tonight when I heard Justin come down the steps. He had a box in his hands, and I asked,

M: “Whatcha doin?”
J: “Emptying this box.”
M: “For what?”
J: “Trash.”
M: “Oh. I see.”

Satisfied, I turned back to Lily, who had been playing in the tub. Now I know Lily heard us, and yes, I know she couldn’t have understood and chimed in. But I’m telling you, this is exactly what it sounded like she said. It was hilarious!

L: “What’s he doin’?”
M: “Emptying the box.”
L: “What box?”
M: “The box from upstairs.”
L: “Oh.”

She then promptly went back to playing – like her questions had been answered and she, too, was satisfied. When she spoke, I gave an answer that seemed to match what it sounded like she was saying. It’s how we roll around here – it just doesn’t always make as much sense as it did tonight!

Leave a Reply

