reflecting …

I’ve been fighting it for days, maybe even weeks. And this morning, after running errands, I pulled in the driveway and lost it.

I’m one of those highly sentimental types. I hang on to certain memories forever – both good and bad. I treasure particular gifts, knowing that the giver put their heart into the gift. And I love things with history – treasures passed down through generations.

So why did I have a meltdown in the car – in the driveway? I’m so lucky. We’re so blessed. I have an amazing husband who loves us with a most gentle and caring love. I have a daughter who is growing up to fast – she’s perfect to me. I’ve got wonderfully supportive family members – they love me for who I am and accept my shortcomings. I don’t show enough appreciation sometimes – okay, all the time – they’re my rock. We have a solid roof over our heads, are both employed, and are mostly able to provide not only what we need, but what we want, to each other.

That’s enough reason for me to become emotional. Reflecting on the true meaning of Christmas, thinking through sacrifices made by so many so that I may sit here today and tell this story to you, makes me emotional.

I’m not perfect. And if it were up to me, I wouldn’t give gifts, nor would I choose to receive. I’d want to instead make a personal commitment to continuously become a better person. To give more. To open my heart much more than I do. To think of others more often. To spend time with the people I love the most. And I’d ask the same in return – as my gift from them.

I am blessed. We are blessed. And I’m taking the time this year to realize just how beautiful this life is. When I reflect, it’s absolutely overwhelming.

Take the time to think through life’s many blessings, and share your love and thankfulness with others this holiday season. You just might make someone’s day, turn someone’s life around, or be a beacon of hope they’ve been looking for.

Just love. For the greatest gift isn’t something material you give or receive, the greatest gift is love.

2 responses to “reflecting …

  1. I feel blessed to have you as a friend. Merry Christmas, Min. Miss you lots. Love reading your blog and keeping up with you.

  2. And I am blessed to have you as well! You’re keeping up with our happenings, I’m keeping up with your happenings … now we just need to get together! Miss you!!! Thank you for the note – you made my day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

