good grief!

Has it really been 4 months since I’ve posted!? Sheesh …

So much has happened in 4 months! New job, a little one who’s now 1, bad news about Cody, a new dog … the list could go on and on!

Instead of going backwards, though, we’ll move forward. Well, maybe I’ll hit some of the highlights. But before I do, I’ve got to get Peanut updates out.

She started taking her first steps last Friday, 7/2. She walked between J and I several times – 4 or 5 steps at a time. At a cookout on Sunday, she took 6 or 7 steps downhill, then took a few back up the hill. Go girl! She’s got 7 teeth now, and is working on an 8th. Sleeping has finally become something normal; we take her upstairs, put her in her crib, and 9 times out of 10 she’s out. She might get up once or twice a night maybe once a week. We’ll take it! My, it’s been a l-o-n-g time coming! She is truly an amazing girl.

Just tonight, we were at Buffalo Wild Wings and she had us both laughing hysterically (Okay, I was crying I was laughing so hard!). Ramblin’ Man came on, and she put both pointer fingers up in the air and started dancing in her chair! I couldn’t contain myself; it was AWESOME! She continued dancing for nearly the entire song – seriously, my heart melted!

In other news, we learned in mid-May that Cody has prostate cancer. They gave him weeks/months to live, so we’re appreciating each and every day with him. We also adopted a second dog this past weekend – Huckleberry – a 2 1/2 year old beagle mix. He’s great; house-trained, sits, plays, and sleeps under our bed with his head sticking out. We couldn’t be more excited about Huck! There’s just something about rescuing a dog from the shelter – makes them that much more special!

It’s been the year for new jobs – first Justin, now me. I’m settling in and enjoying the change of pace. It’s got its challenges, but the environment is such a breath of fresh air.

Should we leave it at that? Okay, it’s done. We are alive over here, just a little buried. Hard to believe how much more work little ones are once they’re mobile. I had so much time before Peanut was moving – seems I can’t even catch up anymore. Don’t worry, I’m certainly not complaining. That girl is amazing! Just sayin’.

Alrighty friends, I’m out! I’ll try to check in more often – promise! Until then, stay cool. It was 105 degrees today – scorching!

One response to “good grief!

  1. Aloha! I decided I would add a quick comment since I have invested the better part of the last half an hour perusing through your articles. I am often impressed at the good quality of blog writing that I can discover online by smacking the “I’m Feeling Lucky” option on Google! Well that is pretty much all I’ve got to say! Many thanks again and very nice to ‘meet’ you 🙂

Leave a Reply

