recipe: taco soup.

A dear work friend introduced me to this recipe late last week and I immediately knew it would work for my husband and I. After some minor adaptations, I’d say it’s just about perfect!

.:| taco soup |:.

IMG_5417e1

What you’ll need …

2 lbs. ground beef (would also be great with ground turkey)
1 large onion, chopped
1 can pinto beans
1 can black beans
1 can whole kernel corn
1 can diced tomatoes – zesty chili style
1 can Rotel tomatoes
1 package taco seasoning mix (I also added an additional 1/4 cup plus 2 Tbsp.)
1 package Hidden Valley Ranch dressing mix (dry packet)
approximately 2 cups water (use whatever you like for the amount of broth you prefer)

What you’ll do …

Brown ground beef and onions in large pan; drain off fat. Add all ingredients to crock pot (Note: I have a 6.5 qt. crock pot and it was 3/4 full.) and cook on low for at least 2 hours (I let ours cook for 8 hours.). Serve garnished with sour cream and Fritos.

IMG_5422e1

Leave a Reply

