social media @ work?

Do you use social networking sites at work? I’ll admit, maybe regrettably (The admission, not the use.), that I do.

This look at my use of social networking at work came after reading this article. If you’re at all interested in social media, marketing, human resources, or even business management, I recommend you read it. The author presents some interesting perspectives and quite a strong case for the use of social media in the workplace.

Personally, the majority of my social media use during business hours is instigated by a business need. Among other business uses, I am responsible for my organization’s Facebook page and make any updates and posts during business hours. I use LinkedIn to keep in contact with vendors, get news on upcoming events,  and to stay up to date on marketing and construction industry trends. I can honestly say that 75% or more of my Twitter stream is business related, and that’s nearly all I check on that particular site. I use Delicious to organize my business association links, vendor sites, and creative references and refer to them at least once a day. And yes, I check my RSS feed for blog updates throughout the day, again most of which are job related.

That’s not to say that I don’t stray to post the occasional personal comment on Facebook, breeze through the “parenting” category on my Twitter stream, or add a new link to my Delicious account. I do. However, my use of these sites is not excessive, and blocking them would only hinder my overall productivity.

My employer does not have a policy on social networking, and quite honestly, perhaps they should. It would likely be beneficial to define what is and is not appropriate and how employees should conduct themselves on these sites if acting on behalf of the organization – after all, I’m certain I’m not the only one here using social media for business purposes.

How about you – do you use social networking sites during business hours? Does your employer have a policy on social media? Are you even permitted to use such sites? Just curious.

Happy weekend, everyone!

Leave a Reply

