LeapFrog’s My Pal Scout

This is one of those, “you just have to know about it because I love it or hate it” reviews. I bought LeapFrog’s My Pal Scout from Target last week and have been in love with him ever since. IMG_1674e2 First, he’s adorable! Believe me, once he’s programmed, he’s even more cute! His, “Hi, Lily!” greeting melts my heart every time!

Scout comes with a USB connection; you download LeapFrog Connect and plug him into your computer. From there, you can add your child’s name, favorite color, favorite animal, and favorite food. You can also change Scout’s songs – he comes pre-programmed with 5 daytime songs and 5 nighttime songs which you can swap out for 30+/- other options.

IMG_1691e2 My Pal Scout is rated for children 6 months to 3 years. Lily is just under 5 months, and she loves it! Most of the time we have to push the buttons for her, though sometimes she does it herself. She laughs at the light when the bone on his collar lights up, and she talks while he sings and talks to her. I can see her hanging onto Scout for a long time. She’ll “grow into” him for sure; once she has a favorite food, color and animal, we’ll be able to personalize. She’ll also be able to learn from Scout. According to LeapFrog’s website, My Pal Scout teaches:

  • First words
  • Daily routines
  • Early number sense
  • Feelings and emotions
  • Animals

See, there’s laughing with Scout (He must be a funny guy!)…

IMG_1712e2

… and talking to Scout (Could he be a good listener?)!

IMG_1717e2

If you’re looking for a cuddly, interactive companion for your child, I’d recommend My Pal Scout. Don’t be surprised if you’re singing along within hours – he’s sweet, addicting and oh so cute!

Note: Again, I am merely sharing my opinion on a product I purchased on my own. If you want to know more about my thoughts and policies on product reviews, go here.

Leave a Reply

