growing? please?

It’s got to be – the girl must be growing. (Please let it be growing, because if this is the new permanent pattern, I’ll crumble.) We had this awesome schedule down – eat 6 oz around 10:30 pm, wake up around 2 am for some chow, and sleep until 6 am (Sometimes 7 am!) or so. I could totally dig getting up once. Somewhere in the past week, however, that schedule has been replaced with one I’m much less thrilled with. While we’re not quite to the point of, “if mommy’s not happy, no one is happy,” we’re getting close.

Last night, I got a nap from 10:00-11:00, then another from 12:00-2:00, and a third from 3:00-5:00. That’s a total of 5 hours of sleep in glorious crappy nap format. That girl was up at 11:00 and 2:00, and there’s simply no need for that, especially considering she ate 5 oz at 11:00 and only 3 oz when she got up at 2:00 (No wonder; she didn’t need to be eating then!)! There was even an additional spell at 4:00, but I let her work through that one as it didn’t seem to be a cry for food but more of a “I woke up and want you to put me back to sleep” cry. Thankfully, she didn’t need me to put her back to sleep! That’s at least one thing we’ve done right!

I haven’t decided which approach I’ll take tonight if all remains the same, but we’re either going to soothe without food or cry it out (within reason) at 2 am. Knowing me, I’ll probably ditch both, give in, and feed her anyway. No, I will keep my sheriff attitude – this is my camp to run, not hers. (The sheriff meant business last time … here and here.)? Tonight, I’ll be tough … I just don’t know how tough.

Dear Lily,

You know how much mommy loves you, so I’m sure you’ll understand and do what you can. I’m tired – I haven’t had a full night’s sleep since May 9th, and I’m exhausted. Please learn to sleep well again, because this new stuff is totally wearing me out. I know you can do it.

All my love,
Mommy

Now, wish us luck, please! I think we’re both going to need it to get through this!

Leave a Reply

