this week in food …

Aah, the second installment of what we’re eating this week! Let me start by saying that last night’s dinner ROCKED. For now, here’s what else is on the menu for this week:

  • breakfast burritos (eggs, onion, turkey bacon and cheese in whole wheat pitas) with pan-fried potatoes (Yes, again! They’re so good, and so easy!)
  • grilled buffalo chicken with potato packets and green beans
  • grilled halibut (Caught just a few weeks back by my dad on a trip to Alaska! Yum!) – side dishes TBD once I decide how I’ll prepare the fish
  • Fair food! It’s the week for our county fair, so we plan to take Lily one day this week and enjoy some yummy-tasting, artery-clogging treats – fries and funnel cake are on my plate, for sure!

IMG_9804 Now, to last night’s dinner. We had roasted garlic burgers, and they were SO good! After deciding that I wanted my house to smell like roasted garlic (I LOVE the smell!), I roasted one head of garlic (with olive oil, sea salt, and pepper – 400 degrees for 30 minutes) and made it into garlic paste. I then mixed that with 1.5 lbs. of lean ground beef (Hamburgers were already on the menu, and what was I to do with my roasted garlic?) and made 6 patties. My husband and dad grilled the burgers and I topped them with shredded sharp white cheddar cheese and caramelized onions. The burgers were served on rolls brushed with homemade garlic butter. Oh. My. Gosh. They were SO good! (And no, I don’t have pictures! I thought about it after the fact! Duh!)

So, what are YOU eating this week?

Leave a Reply

