babies …

Cheesy, I know. A few friends did this several months back; I was pregnant at the time, and really anticipated what I would answer when the time came. Guess what? I saved it, and share with you my answers now that I am officially a mom! (Nerd alert!)

  1. Was your pregnancy planned? Nope, but it was certainly welcomed! It was a “risk” we took after I was told that there was likely a 90+% chance I wouldn’t be able to get pregnant. Proved that wrong within 3 months time! Ha! What an awesome blessing. Just goes to show you that we’re not always the ones in control, nor are we all knowing.
  2. Were you married at the time? Yep, for almost 4 years. It was time for us to expand our family!
  3. What was your reaction? My thoughts were, “Seriously? This wasn’t supposed to be able to happen!” It was truly a miracle, and completely unexpected.
  4. Was abortion an option? Absolutely not.
  5. How old were you? 28
  6. How did you find out you were pregnant? Pregnancy test before work. It was no big deal b/c my schedule had been off, so I’d been doing them every month anyway. I really expected nothing quite like what I saw when I looked down and saw the word, “Pregnant.”
  7. Who did you tell first? My fantastic friend Hope! I showed her a picture I had taken with my phone, and she could barely read it. I still remember the moment she figured it out – and I’m emotional all over again! Justin was in NC and I just couldn’t tell him over the phone. Thank goodness he came home that night; that was the longest day e-v-e-r! I had thought up very special ways to tell our families, so I couldn’t tell them, either.
  8. Did you want to find out the sex? At first, yes, then no. My husband wanted to, so we did. We had a sonogram on 12/19, and we had our technician write it down and put it in a sealed envelope. We opened it with our families on Christmas night, and it was a fantastic moment! (In my heart, I already knew it was a girl.)
  9. Due date? Saturday, May 16th, but she arrived early on Monday, May 11th. I had already prepared myself for her to arrive a week late, so I was totally not ready when she came almost a week early! First babies don’t come early! ;0)
  10. Did you have morning sickness? I had all day sickness, and it was horrible. Sneezing, coughing, lifting, and many other trivial things would cause me to get sick. It sucked, and I was totally miserable to be around!
  11. What did you crave? Oranges and milk … not together!
  12. Who/what irritated you the most? Hmmm, no one/nothing that I remember, but I’m sure there were things.
  13. What gender is your child? Girlfriend!
  14. Did you wish you had the opposite sex of what you were getting? Nope, I knew I’d happily accept whatever God had planned for me.
  15. How many pounds did you gain? To be honest, I don’t know. It wasn’t much; 2 days after she was born I weighed less than before I got pregnant, and I was back in pre-pregnancy clothes at that point, too. I thinned out all throughout my pregnancy.
  16. Did you have a baby shower? Two, actually – one with family & friends and the other at work. They were both awesome!
  17. Was the shower a surprise or did you know? My friends & family shower was not a surprise at all; I helped my mom plan it. (Sigh …) My work shower was a surprise up until 10 minutes beforehand! How they kept it a secret so long I’ll never know. Too bad I ruined it; I walked into the kitchen to find two co-workers melting chocolate. Both of them were on diets … yeah, we’re dipping strawberries my rear!
  18. Did you have any complications during your pregnancy? Nope, thank goodness.
  19. How many hours were you in labor? 14 total, but I really only hated the last 2.
  20. Who drove you to the hospital? My fantastic husband.
  21. Who watched you give birth? Justin and my mom were with me, along with my midwife and one nurse. Everyone was AWESOME!
  22. Was it natural or cesarean? Natural … and seriously natural, too!
  23. Did you take medicine to ease the pain? Nope, nothing at all! Yeah, baby! And I’d do it again the same way in a heartbeat. Crazy? Yes. I can handle a lot.
  24. How much did your child weigh? 7 lbs. 1.4 oz.
  25. What was your child’s actual birth date? Monday, May 11th. It rained a little bit, but all in all, was a fairly nice day. My labor started on Mother’s Day at 11:52 pm … think she could have arrived and given me my first Mother’s Day? Nope, she wanted to make me wait 364 days! Stinker!
  26. What did you name your child? Lily, and her middle name is Justin’s grandmother’s name; unfortunately, we lost her less than a month prior to Lily’s arrival, so they never got to meet.
  27. How old is your child today? 12w2d

Leave a Reply

