who needs sleep?

Who needs sleep in the B household? Everyone! Seriously though, I think Lily may be getting into more of a nighttime sleep routine – yippee! (BTW, she is 10 weeks old as of yesterday.) I don’t want to jinx it, but for the past two days, she’s rocked almost 6 and 7 hour stretches at night. Here’s how things have been shaking out:

  • Sunday night into Monday: 11:45 pm & 5:30 am … translation = 5h45m
  • Monday night into Tuesday: 7:30 pm & 2:30 am … translation = 7h

Anyone psyched? I am, I am!

I’d really like more nights like Sunday into Monday, because those times are actual sleep. When she eats at 7:30 pm, we try to keep her awake until 10:30 pm or so in an effort to get more sleep out of her at the times we need it most. Ideal would be 10 pm to 6 am, but I’ll take anything even remotely close at this point! Rock on, girlfriend!

Our little Peanut is becoming much more independent – it’s awesome to watch! When we got home, I fed her and then wanted to get dinner started. I took her in the kitchen with me and put her in her Bumbo seat. Normally, time in the Bumbo is VERY limited – she just hasn’t been that into it. Well last night was totally different, and I’d guess she spent 15 minutes or so in there! We talked and watched The Pink Panther cartoons while I got dinner together. It was a blast! Later on last night, she spent half an hour or so on her play mat – hanging out with Mr. Whale, Ms. Octopus and friends. She chewed on her arm and hand (Her new favorite thing, by far!), hit the rattles, and held a serious conversation with those toys. So cool!

Finally, Lily and I have a playdate tonight! I’m hoping to join a local moms group, and this is our “intro” event so we can officially join. I’m so excited! We’re going to a pajama party storytime at a local Barnes & Noble. The hope is to meet lots of awesome moms who we can have fun with in the future. I know this is something that will become easier and more fun as Lily gets a bit older, but the way I see it, there’s never a better time to start than now. I can’t wait to see what other types of events they plan – we’ll get access to the group information after tonight’s event (For security reasons, they like to confirm that we are who we say we are in person before granting us access to group and meeting information. Works for me because it keeps the creepy people away!). This particular group holds events for the entire group (Which, by the way, has 290 adult members and has held over 1,500 events in the past 3 years!) as well as events broken out by age group, which is a great option for us right now. I can’t wait to meet other moms and hopefully find some future playmates for Lily! Wish us luck – we’ll report in tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

