50+ books …

* updated 7/8/09 *

For the record, I’m a new CafeMom user. Earlier this week while cruising around the site, I stumbled across a group of 125 moms who have accepted the challenge of reading 50 books in a year. (Okay, that’s like a book a week!) These awesome women are free to choose any books they want to read – there are no guidelines and no set reading list. That certainly helps make the goal a bit easier and more fun to achieve!

While my current situation won’t allow me to read a complete book from front to back in a YEAR’S time, let alone one a week, I thought it might be fun to compile a list of books I’d like to read eventually and would read if I were a member of this group. Perhaps if I make the list, I’ll feel compelled to read all 50 books by the time I’m 100 50.

So … here goes. I’ve included books I’ve read over the past year, pre-Lily, as well – they’re in italics. This list will be a work in progress and may extend beyond 50, but for now, here’s my start (in alphabetical order by author) and with commentary where appropriate …

  1. Diver Down: Real-World SCUBA Accidents and How to Avoid Them … Michael Ange
  2. I Was a Really Good Mom Before I Had Kids: Reinventing Modern Motherhood … Trisha Ashworth, Amy Nobile
  3. Active Birth … Janet Balaskas
  4. Health & Fitness in Plain English … Jolie Bookspan
  5. The Starfish and the Spider: The Unstoppable Power of Leaderless Organizations … Ori Brafman, Rod A. Beckstrom
  6. Small Giants: Companies That Choose to Be Great Instead of Big … Bo Burlingham
  7. The Secret … Rhonda Byrne
  8. The Last Dive: A Father and Son’s Fatal Descent into the Ocean’s Depths … Bernie Chowdhury
  9. Shop Class as Soulcraft: An Inquiry Into the Value of Work … Matthew B. Crawford
  10. Reading People: How to Understand People and Predict Their Behavior- -Anytime, Anyplace … Jo-Ellan Dimitrius, Mark C. Mazzarella
  11. In the Woods … Tana French
  12. The Baby Sleep Solution: A Proven Program to Teach Your Baby to Sleep Twelve Hours a Night … Suzy Giordano & Lisa Abidin
  13. The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference … Malcolm Gladwell (Own this one, but have yet to read it.)
  14. The 33 Strategies of War … Robert Greene
  15. Reasons to Believe: How to Understand, Explain, and Defend the Catholic Faith … Scott Hahn
  16. Made to Stick: Why Some Ideas Survive and Others Die … Chip Heath, Dan Heath
  17. Matrimony … Joshua Henkin
  18. Madness: A Bipolar Life … Marya Hornbacher (I have a family member who suffers from bipolar disorder and am always looking for new information and perspectives in order to better our relationship.)
  19. Make Your Business Survive and Thrive!: 100+ Proven Marketing Methods to Help You Beat the Odds and Build a Successful Small or Home-Based Enterprise … Priscilla Y. Huff
  20. Duct Tape Marketing: The World’s Most Practical Small Business Marketing Guide … John Jantsch
  21. Take This Book to Work: How to Ask for (and Get) Money, Fulfillment, and Advancement … Tory Johnson, Robyn Spizman
  22. Go It Alone!: The Secret to Building a Successful Business on Your Own … Bruce Judson
  23. The Happiest Baby on the Block: The New Way to Calm Crying and Help Your Newborn Baby Sleep Longer … Harvey Karp
  24. The End of Overeating: Taking Control of the Insatiable American Appetite … David Kessler
  25. The Secret Life of Bees … Sue Monk Kidd
  26. Shadow Divers: The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries of World War II … Robert Kurson
  27. Working Mom’s 411: How To Manage Kids, Career and Home … Michelle LaRowe
  28. Liberty & Tyranny: A Conservative Manifesto … Mark Levin
  29. Living Artfully: A Heart-full Guide of Ideas and Inspirations That Celebrate Life, Love, and Moments That Matter … Sandra Magsamen
  30. Mapping Inner Space: Learning and Teaching Visual Mapping … Nancy Margulies
  31. The Book of No: 250 Ways to Say It and Stop People-Pleasing Forever … Susan Newman (I own this book and though I’ve skimmed it, I haven’t really read it. No, I don’t have a serious people-pleasing problem. Really.)
  32. The Last Lecture … Randy Pausch (This book was recommended by a co-worker, and it’s one of the best books I’ve ever read. It’s an easy read; something you could pick up from time to time and still appreciate.)
  33. It’s Hard Out Here For a Shrimp: Life, Love & Living Large … Pepe the King Prawn, Kermit the Frog
  34. Learning to See Creatively: Design, Color & Composition in Photography … Bryan Peterson
  35. My Sister’s Keeper … Jodi Picoult
  36. This Year I Will…: How to Finally Change a Habit, Keep a Resolution, or Make a Dream Come True … M.J. Ryan
  37. Living Out Loud … Keri Smith
  38. Wreck This Journal … by Keri Smith (Okay, so this isn’t something to read, per se, but it still makes my list. I’d LOVE to do this soon!)
  39. When I Say No, I Feel Guilty … Manuel J. Smith
  40. A New Earth: Awakening to Your Life’s Purpose … Eckhart Tolle
  41. The Power of Now … Eckhart Tolle (I own this one, but unfortunately, my unruly Siberian Husky ate a good part of it. Yeah, it’s safe to say I’d have difficulty reading it in its entirety and would have to get it from the library or buy another copy. Argh.)
  42. Sippy Cups Are Not for Chardonnay: And Other Things I Had to Learn as a New Mom … Stefanie Wilder-Taylor
  43. The Shack … William P. Young (This book rocks! While I wasn’t so sure about it initially, once I figured out what was going on, I couldn’t put it down. It was truly inspirational.)

And one thing I’ve learned almost immediately from looking over this list? I’m much more the non-fiction type!

2 responses to “50+ books …

  1. So glad to see my book made your reading list!

  2. Hi..I’m Robyn Spizman, the co-author of # 16 on your list. Tory Johnson and I are so flattered that we made your list. We wrote Take This Book To Work to help women get ahead at work and answered the tough questions we’re often either concerned about asking or simply don’t know to ask. We also just co-authored Will Work From Home also which is about making cash without a commute. We hope you enjoy the book(s) and are honored to be on your list and very grateful!
    Take This Book to Work: How to Ask for (and Get) Money, Fulfillment, and Advancement … Tory Johnson, Robyn Spizman

Leave a Reply

