black bean dip & pita chips

I did it! I managed to make black bean dip as promised! Unfortunately, when I made my grocery list, I failed to remember that black bean dip was on my list for this week, so I had to make it with ingredients I had on hand. Turns out, it turned out! Here’s what we did …

IMG_8520 Pita Chips

1 package pita pockets (I used whole wheat)
olive oil
coarse sea salt

Line baking sheet with aluminum foil (Optional, but makes clean-up a breeze!) Cut each pita pocket into 8 wedges and place on foil lined baking sheet. Brush each side with olive oil and sprinkle both sides with coarse sea salt. Bake at 400 for 8-10 minutes. Remove from oven and transfer chips from baking sheet to cooling rack.

IMG_8524 Black Bean Dip

1 medium onion, diced
4 cloves garlic, chopped
2 Tbsp. olive oil
2 Tbsp. fresh oregano, chopped
1/2 tsp. cumin
salt, to taste
1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper
2 cans black beans, drained and rinsed
2 Tbsp. orange juice

Saute onion & garlic in olive oil until onion is translucent. Add oregano, cumin, salt & cayenne pepper; saute 1 minute. Remove from heat. Set aside 1 cup black beans. In food processor, combine remaining black beans, orange juice and onion mixture. Blend until desired consistency. Stir in whole black beans and serve with pita chips. Can be served warm or cold.

If you try it, let me know what you think! And if you want more pictures, there are more of the entire process at my flickr site.

Note: While I’d make this again and will add it to my list of great “on hand” dishes, I’d like to try it again with some different and more exciting ingredients. When that happens, I’ll let you know and post the recipe here!

Leave a Reply

