sorry …

Before I begin, let me first take a moment to wish all of the father’s I know, and even the ones I don’t know, a very happy Father’s Day. This year, I’m blessed to know several first time fathers, including my husband, and I hope their day is very special. Being a good father, dad, daddy or pops takes a very special person with a big heart and lots of patience, and they deserve to be honored for their continuous love and sacrifices.

I only have a few minutes, but I want to apologize. I wish I had more time to blog; more time to share with you what’s going on with us and how Lily is progressing. She’s reached several fun milestones over the past few weeks, and most of you are in the dark. I have to say that I honestly had no idea this parenting thing would be so time-consuming for me. I knew it was a lot of hard work (And SO worth it!), but I just didn’t realize how little time I’d have after Lily is taken care of, we’re all fed, the house is clean, and the day-to-day demands are fulfilled. I’ll try harder, but I have a feeling once I go back to work (Which is coming WAY too soon!) things are only going to get way more crazy.

So quickly, a few updates. Lily is spending much more time alert and awake, and is responding to so much more now! She’s noticing new objects, which is so cool! She’s also making lots of new noises, including a new shriek when her bottle is taken away so she can burp. It’s hilarious! The most exciting, though, are her smiles! She started smiling last Monday, and it’s awesome! We are loving these small steps and are trying to absorb every second of it because it goes too fast.

Lily is also growing like crazy – at one month, she weighed 9 lbs 5 oz! She’s grown out of many of her newborn clothes and is filling in those 0-3 months outfits! It’s too cool, and kind of sad at the same time.

As for nights, she’s still got a great schedule, for the most part. She usually wakes up every 3 hours to eat, but over the past week, she’s thrown in some 4 hour stretches – let me tell you, they’re MUCH appreciated by me! Last night, she even went from 9:20 pm to 2:00 am … that’s almost 5 hours! Of course, she still gives me some seriously tough nights, but those are to be expected, and they’re few and far between.

Well, I’ve already spent more time than anticipated updating you, so it’s seriously time for me to run. For those of you who have e-mailed/called/left FB messages and are still waiting for a response, I’M SORRY! I’m trying, and am making a promise to try harder every day. I do love you – I promise! And in general, I’ll try to keep the updates coming on a more regular basis!

Happy Father’s Day, dads!

Leave a Reply

