it’s only my favorite …

… number. The number 13, that is. And that’s where we are today. Woohoo! At the end of this week, I’ll have completed the first trimester!

from me …

Let’s count them – today is the 5th good day in a row! Please let it be in the past. I’m still getting sick, but I’m not feeling sick, and I’m totally okay with that. Yeah! Heartburn has made its appearance, but again, that’s something I am completely okay with. Please, no more bad, feeling sick days!

I think I’ve experienced my first belly pop. I was in the bathroom yesterday at work and happened to look at my belly as I was washing my hands. Well, friends, it was like all of a sudden, this large bump appeared! Like I grew overnight. I even got a smile out of Justin last night when I showed him. 🙂 Perfect timing, because I was becoming paranoid about that bubble in there.

My next appointment is on Monday afternoon (A’s birthday!), so I’ll update after that. I’m hoping to hear the bubble! Yippee!

About 15 minutes ago, the first person “noticed” from my visible appearance. He might as well have just said, “Why M, you look like a house today! Congratulations!”

13-medium-shrimp from babycenter …

Your pregnancy: 13 weeks

How your baby’s growing:
Fingerprints have formed on your baby’s tiny fingertips, her veins and organs are clearly visible through her still-thin skin, and her body is starting to catch up with her head — which makes up just a third of her body size now. If you’re having a girl, she now has more than 2 million eggs in her ovaries. Your baby is almost 3 inches long (the size of a medium shrimp) and weighs nearly an ounce.

stats @ 13 weeks:
Your baby has reached the size of a medium shrimp and weighs nearly an ounce. (Length: almost 3 inches, head to bottom.)

cartoon13 From whattoexpect:

Week 13 of Pregnancy: Fetal Growth Rates

Your fetus is now about three inches long and the size of a peach. But don’t compare your fetus with the fetus next door. Starting about now, babies begin growing at different paces, some faster than others, some more slowly, though they all follow the same developmental path. Growing at a universally breakneck speed now is your baby’s body as it tries to catch up to the head in terms of size. Though your baby’s head is about half the size of its body now, by the time your baby is ready to make his or her entrance into the world, the head will be only one-fourth as large as the body.

Your baby’s intestines are also in for some big changes right now. Up till this point, they’ve been growing in a cavity inside the umbilical cord; but now they’re moving to their permanent (and more conveniently located) address, in your baby’s abdomen. And to serve your growing baby’s needs, the placenta is also growing. It weighs about an ounce now and will weigh one to two pounds at birth (something else you’ll soon be able to blame your weight gain on!).

Also developing this week: your baby’s vocal chords. Because sound can’t travel through your uterus (your baby’s current habitat), you won’t be able to hear any sounds or cries just yet, but oh boy (or girl) — those vocal chords will get a good workout once that baby is born.

One response to “it’s only my favorite …

  1. Min,

    Glad you’re starting to feel a little better. Take good care of your little shrimp!

    Love you!
    Amanda

Leave a Reply

