sunday randoms …

Random 1 …
I love the recently released Coldplay song, Viva La Vida.” I really don’t know why I love it so much. I’ve always liked Coldplay, and this time, I can’t get enough of this song. There’s something so “official” sounding about it. It’s serious, and makes me introspective. I like that. Sometimes.

Random 2 …
My friends, I have found my new snack of choice. On my way home from the “do it our way or hit the highway” institution, I stopped at Roots Market. Among other things, I bought a 1.5 lb. bag of Organic Raw Pepitas. While they’re awesome as they are, I wanted to roast them. Oh. My. Gosh. The taste and texture of those little roasted seeds are beyond words. I took a cup or so and coated them with a bit of olive oil and sea salt. They then went onto a foil-lined baking sheet and into the oven at 250 degrees for 15 minutes. What emerged was total bliss. My next trials will include garlic powder, ranch dressing mix, and parmesan cheese – one at a time, of course! I can’t wait!
IMG_5909

Random 3 …
The house is so quiet. No husband, no dog-son. I’ve been alone before, and typically love my days alone, but for some reason, I feel lost this time. Thinking about it, I can’t remember a time when Justin went away with Cody. He’s always here with me, and it’s his absence that has me feeling lonely. He doesn’t talk, but provides a comforting presence. I know, I’m crazy.

Random 4 …
I heard someone else use the word berm besides my husband. Yippee! How exciting! Chef Duff (of Charm City Cakes) on Ace of Cakes used the word berm when discussing a dirt biking Bar Mitzvah cake. Justin, I take back all of my criticisms of your use of the word berm; I’m sorry! NOTE: The definition of berm will also appear in this week’s word of the week entry.

Random 5 …
He did it! Our four-legged friend made his way into the ocean for the first time! Justin said Cody’s chasing the birds – big surprise. He’s always looking for a playmate – whether it be squirrels, birds, or the neighbor’s cats! The report – he’s going in up to his “elbows,” and that’s about it. Hey, he’s no retriever or spaniel, people … he’s a husky (And a wimpy one, at that!)!
cody_ocean cody_nc_rest

Leave a Reply

