i’m a loser … or am i?

So we started a Biggest Loser competition at work back in May. Genius idea, right? Let’s get in shape, improve our overall health, look and feel great. $20 buy-in with a company match, and a “pay $1/lb. gained at each bi-weekly weigh-in” clause. Rockin’. With a guaranteed total pot of $720+, first place gets $432+, second place will walk away with at least $180, and third place $108+. Motivation, right? money_jar

Wrong. It’s now Tuesday, August 5th. The competition ends on Friday, August 29th. My total loss so far? 5.19%. Yep, that’s it. Our lead guy has lost 10.30%, and there are 7 people in-between him and me.

What happened? Up until four weeks ago, I just didn’t care. I’ve got some crazy s**t going on in my life right now, and it’s caused me to not care about a lot of things. The Biggest Loser was one of them.

How have things changed? Well, I tried a low carb Atkins/South Beach type diet, which totally did nothing for me. Good thing, because I so love my carbs! I’m back to the good ol’ eat healthy/low fat/low calorie plan. Not a diet, but a lifestyle change. (Right, I’ve changed my “lifestyle” so many times … it’s ridiculous.) I’ve learned to love the gym again. In fact, it’s my new favorite place (Ha!) … 16 times in the past 22 days, to be exact. Yep, that’s a total of 8,721 calories over 15 hours, 12 minutes and 10 seconds. The new voice in my head is Sean O’Malley, the voice of Cardio Coach (There’ll be more about this in a subsequent blog. He ROCKS, and is totally amazing.).

So far, no amazing results, but I literally just switched back to a regular eating plan, so we’ll see what this week brings. Ideally, I’d like to lose around 21-24%. Admittedly, that would be tiny, so 18-20% would be perfect. I know it won’t happen in the next 24 days, but 2 months is a fair goal.
prize_photo

I’ll keep you posted. For now, my love affair with the treadmill is going strong. My weights and I are one. And my exercise ball is my permanent new seat. Once again, I’m hoping these changes are forever, though you know how that goes. We’ll see. For now, I’m motivated, and am ready to see this thing through. For now, I’m loving Fiber One, grilled chicken, light yogurt, bananas, and Skinny Cow ice cream. And for now, the treadmill, elliptical, weights and rowing machine are all my best friends. This is my time, and I’m in it for the long haul!

P.S. – Look for a list of great articles and tips coming soon. I’ve passed them on to some of the “Losers” in the office and hope you might find some of them valuable, as well.

Leave a Reply

