how hard is it? .:|:.~ reflection 1 ~.:|:.

Now that I’m on a roll, I’m sure this will be one of many, “how hard is it” reflections.

I’m a busy person. I work a full-time job, am wrapping up my master’s degree, and have more hobbies than I know what to do with at this point. I don’t have time to waste, and I’m extremely conscious of that fact.

voodooChanging directions. When you go to any type of medical office, why is it that 9 times out of 10, you have to wait? I had an appointment this morning, one that was supposed to be a quick, “Let’s make sure the new contacts are cool and you’re on you’re way,” type of appointment. I took the first available because I couldn’t see s**t, so the sooner, the better.

I leave work, having planned just enough time. I arrive promptly at 9:45 am, and am told to have a seat in the waiting room and he’d be with me shortly. In hindsight, I need to change my definition of shortly if these people were right!

Shortly after I sit down, I hear my name in the background. The more I listen, I realize they’ve lost my chart! Oh, for the love of Pete! There goes all time consciousness … right out the daggone window! This was supposed to be half an hour, max.

I’ll spare you the details, but after an hour, they found my chart, and an hour and a half later, I was walking out the door. Through all of the “missing chart” chaos, no one told me what was going on, and I grew more and more frustrated as the time passed because I could hear what was happening. Guess it was a lesson in patience, and in the definition of the word, “shortly.”

My question is, “How hard is it?” They had record of pulling the chart last night, so I can think of only two or three possibilities here. This isn’t brain surgery, people. It’s simple … really!

Just another day in the life …

Oh, and if you happen to be my “devil” co-worker (You know who you are!) reading this, STOP stabbing the voo doo doll with my name on it, please! I’ve had enough now! You’re free to move on to the next person now!

Leave a Reply

